Dance

DSC_0154

Alison Shuman Photography

Dance is my second major, but my first love. I began dancing at the age of two and competitively at the age of eight. I trained at Encore Performance Company in ballet, jazz, contemporary, lyrical, modern, hip hop and tap dance styles. This education prepared me to be accepted into a top 15 dance program at the University of Alabama and as a member of the official nationally ranked dance team for the school. I was also selected as a member of the Alabama Repertory Dance Theatre pre-professional company. I have had four self-choreographed works presented in the Dance Alabama! student produced concert, one in Dance Collection, and performed in twelve works by other students. I will finish my undergraduate degree in dance in December of 2016 and will study abroad with Performing Arts Abroad in the spring semester.

With my unique background in public relations, I have developed branding and positioning knowledge that allows me to understand and distinguish my artistic voice in the performance, choreography and teaching spaces. With my specialization in technological and digital management, I hope to challenge the conventional performance and dance consumption methods by fusing live performance with digital advancement. While I am trained in a wide variety of dance styles, I find my biggest strengths lie in ballet, contemporary ballet and modern.

I currently choreograph contemporary work for Encore Performance Company, teach ballet at The Dance Centre, travel on staff with Celebrity Dance Competitions and Conventions, and set home routines and field shows on a number of high school dance teams across the southeast.

 

Leave a Reply

